Nothing beats the classics: Writing with a pen and paper

In this digital age, many people still have a nostalgia for physical media. They want that tactile experience. Hardcore music fans prefer to listen to a vinyl record instead of a MP3 on their mobile device. Book lovers crave the experience of picking a book off their shelves, opening it up and turning the pages, instead of reading it off a tablet.

I’m one of these people too. I like books on my shelf, records on my turn table and a pen in my hand.

For me, when I’m writing, nothing beats the pen and paper. This is especially true when I’m working through ideas for my next article or blog post. Brainstorming on a Word document just doesn’t work for me, no matter how hard I try.

When I’m brainstorming ideas, I will go through pages upon pages writing out whatever ideas come into my head. Typically, only a couple of those ideas will be used in my article, but they’re enough to propel me through the writing process.

I’m not sure why, but ideas just flow out of me when I write with a pen and paper. I’m a pretty erratic, non-linear thinker. The freedom and flexibility that a pen and paper allow may just be better suited for capturing my chaotic thought pattern.

When my thoughts become more ordered, linear and concrete, then I can get in front of my computer and begin to write a structured article.

There’s a special quality about the pen and paper that a screen and keyboard just can’t replicate. It’s a siphon for creativity and ideas we didn’t even think we had.

The computer is integral to writing out the final article, but for me, if it wasn’t for the pen and paper, the idea for that article would never exist.

Leave a Reply

